• BPS Debate League Header

Untitled Document
  • News

    May 20, 2019

    • Congratulations to Betsy Ross' Gihon Mack and Jayla Anderson, winners of the 2019 Bridgeport Public Schools Debate League Championship. Runners-up were Discovery Magnet's Abraham Lima and Nataly Valencia. Also competing in the championship round were Genesis Bendolph and Laila Kelly- Walker from Betsy Ross and Aldin Medunjanin and Thomas Donnelly​ from Discovery Magnet.

    • Best Speaker Medals were awarded to:
      • 1st Place Ruth Morgan (Park City Magnet)
      • 2nd Place Abraham Lima (Discovery Magnet)
      • 3rd Place Gihon Mack (Betsy Ross)

    May 6, 2019

    •  Congratulations to Cesar Batalla's Joaquin Chunga and Atila Rivero and Geraldine Claytor's Evelyn Saqui-Lima and Stephanie Rivera winners of the 2019 Hispanic Heritage Debate. Runners- up were Multicultural Magnet's Sofia Atehortua and Rosa Navarro Pulla and Park City Magnet's Ciara Feliciano and Daniela Aguero. 

    May 1, 2019

    • ​​Congratulations to Discovery Magnet's Aldin Medunjanin and Thomas Donnelly winners of the 2nd annual Greater Bridgeport Bar Association's Law Day Debate. Runner-up were Park City Magnet's Kelliece Dixon and Ruth Morgan.                                                                          

     March 5, 2019

    • Forty-three middle and high school debaters travelled to Boston to participate in
      the Senate Immersion Module (SIM) at the Edward M. Kennedy Institute, where
      they tapped into their negotiation and debate skills to learn about the legislative
      process. Using high-touch technology on tablets provided by the Institute, the
      students work together to create a bill on immigration policy. As part of their trip, the students also enjoyed a visit to the John F. Kennedy Presidential Library.                                                                    

    February 27, 2019

    • Congratulations to Park City Magnet’s Kelliece Dixon and Ruth Morgan​ and
      Central High School’s Jada Burgess and Katerina Ruiz, winners of the Third Annual NAACP Douglas-Garrison Debate. Runners-up were Discovery Magnet’s: Thomas Donnelly and Aldin Medunjanin and Fairchild Wheeler’s Heer Thakkar and Kenny Pineda. The debates centered on controlling gun violence and terrorist groups.

    January 25, 2019​​

    • Congratulations to Jettie S Tisdale students Annaliese Ovalle and Lindsey Mohammed winners of the 2019 Twin City Classic Tournament. Congratulations as well to Central High School students Chunjang Brynder and Ezequiel Fontan who took second place in the varsity division of the Twin City Classic.

    December 18, 2018

    • Congratulations to Clementine Gnoto and Stephanie Rivera of Geraldine Claytor Magnet Academy winners of the Bridgeport Public Schools Magnet Cup. Runners up were Aldin Medunjanin and Thomas Donnelly of Discovery Magnet. Also participating were Park City Magnet and High Horizons 
    • The Bridgeport Public Schools Debate League cordially invites the community to the inaugural Magnet Cup Tournament to be held on December 18 at Discovery Magnet 4510 Park Ave, Bridgeport, CT 06606 from 5:00 pm – 7:00 pm.​

     October 13, 2018

    • The Bridgeport Public Schools Debate League will be kicking off the year with an Orientation Workshop on Oct. 13 from 9:00-11:00 at Claytor Magnet Academy 240 Ocean Terr Bridgeport, CT 06650.  In addition to a mock debate, we will have sessions for judges, coaches and students.